If I Were Starting Again . . .

(Note: This came out of a conference I led for a group of Ministers of Education in Alabama. It’s not particularly profound, but maybe it will provide some food for thought.)

I enjoy serving as a Minister of Education in a local church. That’s probably a good thing, considering I’m probably not qualified to do much else. I enjoy my role as an equipper, encourager and minister, but sometimes I look back and “wish that I knew then what I know now.” No, I’m not speaking of regrets – think of this as a list of suggestions for anyone who is involved in Christian education – whether as a vocational minister, or Sunday School teacher, or small-group leader. Some of these, through God’s grace, I managed to get right the first time. Others, well, not so much.

As always, feel free to leave comments or add your ideas to the list.

If I were starting again as a minister of education, I would . . .

* Make my relationship with God my top priority and my family right behind that. No other relationships come close.
* Read – read – read
* Get to know others in my field – find a colleague that’s been doing this a while and pick his or her brain.
* Remember that people are more important than programs.
* Become my pastor’s friend and confidant. If I can’t be his friend, I’ll be loyal. If I can’t with integrity be loyal, I’ll find another place to serve.
* Network
* Be an encourager and equipper for my volunteer leaders
* Maintain my physical health through reasonable diet and exercise
* Develop interests outside of my “church job”: e.g. hunt, fish, collect stamps, play the bagpipes . . .
* Develop relationships outside the church
* Take all of my vacation time
* Write things down (journal, blog, list, etc.)
* Focus my best efforts on things that really matter
* Pray more. A LOT more
* Say “no” more
* Read – read – read . . . outside my areas of responsibility or expertise
* Sit in Bible study classes – not to teach, but to listen and learn
* Write more “thank you” notes to people who have encouraged me, helped me, prodded me
* Not take myself or my position so seriously
* Get out of the office more to serve in the community
* Take more pictures (You will REALLY be glad you did!)
* Spend more one-on-one time with leaders, less time in group meetings
* Think outside the box, once you’ve determined what’s IN the box
* Don’t fear failure – learn from mistakes
* Be a friend
* Continue to grow in faith
* Be transparent
* Be humble
* Be grateful
* Get over being a leader. Get into being a servant
* Have fun!

Explore posts in the same categories: Ministry, Relationships, Servanthood

Leave a Reply

